Homemade Coconut Kefir

I love kefier yoghurt and anything that has to do with müslie, it’s my go to breakfast. While living in Sweden I loved the unsweetened oat yoghurt in the morning, but I’ve had trouble finding a yoghurt I like in Australia. The soy yoghurts all have sugar in them and when I asked for a plain one I was given vanilla… vanilla isn’t plain! So I go with coconut, it doesn’t have the sour taste I like but what can you do.

When I saw this post while browsing this blog, I knew I had to try it! Kefir AND coconut, the two best things in life (or at least when it comes the breakfast..)

62458_575727312462788_414143651_n

Coconut Kefir

from the wellness warrior

To make kefir you need “kefir grains” they are re-usable and multiply, to see where you can find the please go the the original post here

1. Add 1 tablespoon of fresh kefir grains to 1-2 cups of coconut milk.

Note: I made my own coconut milk by blending 1 cup of shredded coconut with 2 cups of water and straining the liquid through a nut milk bag.

2. Combine the grains with the coconut milk in a glass jar. Cover with a cloth secured with a rubber bad and let it sit on your bench (a warm environment is best for fermenting) for 12-24 hours. Give your kefir a few shakes or stirs after about 12 hours.

3. Once the coconut milk has thickened and has a slightly sour flavour, it has turned into kefir. Strain the mixture through a fine plastic strainer to remove the grains. Store kefir in the fridge and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

